EOFSYDNEY

Resolution of Council

17 September 2018

Item 4.2

Council Committees - Functions, Membership, Election of Deputy Chairpersons

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees, as shown at Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) Council elect the Deputy Chairpersons of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, Environment Committee and Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee for a term effective immediately and ending on 30 September 2019;
- (C) Council elect the Deputy Chairpersons of the Sub-Committees of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee and Cultural and Community Committee for a term effective immediately and ending on 30 September 2019;
- (D) if the Lord Mayor does not wish to be the Chairperson of any Committee, Council elect the Chairperson of each such Committee for a term effective immediately and ending on 30 September 2019;
- (E) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting; and
- (F) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith.

Carried unanimously.

The Chair (the Lord Mayor), in accordance with clause (D) of the resolution, confirmed that she wished to be the Chair of all Committees.

At this stage of the meeting, the Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, called upon the Acting Council Business Co-ordinator to assist with the conduct of the ballot.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the positions of Deputy Chairs of Committees and Sub-Committees.

Nominations were made and accepted as follows. Elections were conducted, in alphabetical order, with the results as follows –

(1) Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee

Two nominations for the Deputy Chairperson were received, as follows -

Councillor Robert Kok (nominated by Councillor Miller, seconded by Councillor Thalis)

Councillor Craig Chung (nominated by Councillor Forster, seconded by Councillor Phelps)

Councillors Kok and Chung in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with the results as follows –

Councillor Chung – 4 votes

Councillor Kok – 6 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Kok duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

(2) Economic Development and Business Sub-Committee

One nomination for the Deputy Chairperson was received, as follows -

Councillor Angela Vithoulkas (nominated by Councillor Kok, seconded by Councillor Miller)

Councillor Vithoulkas indicated acceptance of her nomination.

The Acting Council Business Coordinator then declared Councillor Vithoulkas duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Economic Development and Business Sub-Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

(3) Environment Committee

Two nominations for the Deputy Chairperson were received, as follows -

Councillor Jess Miller (nominated by Councillor Scully, seconded by Councillor Kok)

Councillor Christine Forster (nominated by Councillor Chung, seconded by Councillor Phelps)

Councillors Miller and Forster in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Environment Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with the results as follows –

Councillor Forster - 3 votes

Councillor Miller - 7 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Miller duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Environment Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

(4) Cultural and Creative Sub-Committee

One nomination for the Deputy Chairperson was received, as follows -

Councillor Jess Scully (nominated by Councillor Miller, seconded by Councillor Thalis)

Councillor Scully indicated acceptance of her nomination.

The Acting Council Business Coordinator then declared Councillor Scully duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of Deputy Chairperson of the Cultural and Creative Sub-Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

(5) Healthy Communities Sub-Committee

One nomination for the Deputy Chairperson was received, as follows -

Councillor Jess Scully (nominated by Councillor Kok, seconded by Councillor Miller)

Councillor Scully indicated acceptance of her nomination.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Scully duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Healthy Communities Sub-Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

(6) Transport, Heritage and Planning Sub-Committee

Two nominations for the Deputy Chairperson were received, as follows -

Councillor Philip Thalis (nominated by Councillor Kok, seconded by Councillor Miller)

Councillor Craig Chung (nominated by Councillor Forster, seconded by Councillor Phelps)

Councillors Thalis and Chung in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Transport, Heritage and Planning Sub- Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with the results as follows –

Councillor Forster – 4 votes

Councillor Thalis – 6 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Thalis duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Transport, Heritage and Planning Sub-Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

S062388